The Art Walk team with Tommy Sheppard



Art Walk Projects delivers social and ecological practice arts residencies and projects based around Edinburgh's north eastern coastline delivered alongside an annual event of contemporary art celebrating the local artist community of Portobello. The core focus since establishing the Art Walk in 2015 has been in delivering a place centred programme that fuses the subject of community with contemporary culture that forges links with viewers, residents, visitors and artists. Initially set up around an annual weekend event, the Art Walk has since grown into a range of individual projects taking place at a number of sites in and around Edinburgh's coastline througout the year. Often working with lost or undervisited sites we strive to engage communities connecting people, place and partnership, exploring new terrains, that have social or ecological relevance. The programme is curated by artist Rosy Naylor.

Our main activity is oriented around the production and delivery of the Art Walk Porty Festival each September, a two week event of contemporary art that celebrates the local community and creative spirit of Portobello, Edinburgh’s seaside. Each year the creative programme of public-realm work is developed around a different unifying theme, interwoven into a programme of exhibitions, site specific art in public places, participatory arts, art in local shops, walking activity, and local artists opening up their houses to the public.

Some of the commissioned artists we've worked with:
Elise Ashby (Edinburgh), Jonathan Baxter (Edinburgh), Nicky Bird (Musselburgh), Jill Boualaxai (Edinburgh), Greig Burgoyne (Hastings), Juliana Capes (Edinburgh), Jacqueline Donachie (Glasgow), Chris Dooks (Edinburgh), Alec Finlay (Edinburgh), Hayley Harrison (London), Here+Now (Edinburgh), Fiona Hermse (Edinburgh), Annie Lord (Edinburgh), Geri Loup Nolan (Edinburgh), Deirdre Macleod (Edinburgh), Emma Macleod (Edinburgh), Joanne Matthews (Edinburgh), Holger Mohaupt (North Berwick), Oi Musica (Edinburgh), Kiera O'Toole (Ireland), Suzanne Parry (Edinburgh), Jenny Pope (Edinburgh), Daniele Sambo (Glasgow), Anthony Schrag (Edinburgh), Iman Tajik (Glasgow), Rhona Taylor (Edinburgh), Eleanor Thom (Edinburgh), Stephanie Whitelaw (Edinburgh), Ross Whyte (Glasgow), David Williams (Edinburgh), Wilson+Bristow (Edinburgh/Scottish Borders), Claudia Zeiske (Huntly).




Rosy Naylor [curator + founder],
Alison Chisholm [production],
Jenny Martin &
Jude Nixon

Organising team:
Jon Davey, Peter Jones, Jenny Pope, Karl Stern

top image l-r: Tommy Sheppard MSP with Rosy Naylor, Jenny Pope, Karl Stern, Jude Nixon, Alison Chisholm, Jon Davey


Art Walk Projects CIC no 525677



Equalities & Diversity

Foraging walk with Judith Lamb


Follow us at: